Caucus Committee General Meeting Minutes



February 11, 2025 *Gorton Center, Stuart Room*

Call to Order: Joe Oriti, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 7:02 p.m. A quorum was in attendance. Mr. Oriti welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Meeting Minutes: Mr. Oriti first raised the matter of review and approval by the Committee of the Committee meeting minutes of January 28, 2025. Mr. Oriti asked for discussion and, there being none, requested a motion of approval of the minutes as presented. On motion by Richard Fisher and seconded by Cindy Davidson the meeting minutes were approved by acclamation without dissent.

Updates and Information: Mr. Oriti next addressed the matter of the recommendations recently made by the Committee's Ad Hoc Advisory Committee as to amendments of the Caucus Bylaws. Mr. Oriti reported that the recommendations were under review by the Caucus Executive Committee but that due to the timing of their only recently having been provided to the Executive Committee there was insufficient time for the Executive Committee and this Committee to review them adequately before the deadline for publishing them for the purpose of their being submitted for vote at the Caucus Spring Meeting. He reported that the Executive Committee would continue with its review and report further to this Committee.

Mr. Oriti then called on Dale Tauke, Secretary of the Lake Forest Caucus, for an update as to several upcoming events. Mr. Tauke reported as to two "meet and greet" events would be held for attendance by Caucus members, one for meeting with the candidates selected to stand for election by the Wards to the Caucus and one for meeting with the proposed slate of Caucus officers for the 2025-2026 Caucus year. He also reported on plans for the holding of the Caucus Spring Meeting of members and the process for election of the new officers.

Interviews of Plan Commission Candidates: Mr. Oriti then raised the matter of the Committee's interviewing David Hunt and Joe Weiss, candidates seeking the Caucus recommendation for appointment to the Lake Forest Plan Commission. Mr. Oriti request Peggy Siebert, Chair of Ward 2, and Rosemary Kehr, a former member of the Plan Commission, to address the Ward's approach to the process of selecting candidates to be interviewed and to inform the Committee as to the attributes and skills deemed to be important for service on the Plan Commission. Ms. Siebert and Ms. Kehr spoke to the Committee on these matters.

Ms. Siebert then in turn invited the candidates into the meeting room to be interviewed by the Committee. Each presented his interest in the position and his experience and talents that would be useful on the Plan Commission. Each also addressed questions by Committee members, made brief closing remarks and then at the end of his interview and after being thanked by Mr. Oriti for his interest in serving left the meeting room.

The Committee then discussed the matter of which candidate to select for recommendation by the Caucus. At the conclusion of the discussion, on motion made by Ann Lyon and seconded by Tom Bohac, the Committee voted to recommend David Hunt for appointment to the Plan Commission.

Proposed New Officer Slate: Mr. Oriti then called on Regina Etherton, Caucus Vice President, to present the proposed slate of Caucus officers for the 2025-2026 Caucus year. Mrs. Etherton presented the names of the proposed new officers, who were Mrs. Etherton as President, Mark Pickett, External Communications officer of the Caucus, as Vice President, Armando Guzman, Internal Communications officer of the Caucus, as Treasurer, Dale Tauke, Secretary of the Caucus, as Secretary, Tyler Lisenby as External Communications officer, Viktor Brisku, Chair of Ward 4, as Internal Communications officer and Peggy Siebert, Chair of Ward 2, as Fundraising officer. Mrs. Etherton also addressed the Committee on the importance of encouraging all Caucus members to vote on the proposed slate of officers at the upcoming Spring Meeting and on the process for the Committee's working on that effort.

Adjournment: There being no further business, Mr. Oriti called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Annie Liddle, seconded by Rosemary Kehr and approved by acclamation by the Committee without dissent. The meeting was adjourned at 9:18 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary