Caucus Committee General Meeting Minutes



January 28, 2025 Gorton Center, Stuart Room

Caucus Committee meeting called to order: Regina Etherton, Vice President of the Lake Forest Caucus, acting in the place of Joe Oriti, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 6:33 p.m. A quorum was in attendance. Mrs. Etherton welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Meeting Minutes: Mrs. Etherton first raised the matter of review and approval by the Committee of the Committee meeting minutes of October 14 and 15, 2024 and the minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Caucus members of October 30, 2024. Mrs. Etherton asked for discussion and, there being none, requested a motion of approval of the minutes as presented. On motions made by Larry Obermeyer and seconded by Cindy Davidson, made by Alex Wilcox and seconded by Annie Liddle and made by Matthew Liddy and seconded by Bert Carstens, each of the meeting minutes, respectively, were approved by separate votes of acclamation without dissent.

Presentation of Information: Mrs. Etherton then addressed the Committee briefly on several topics pertaining to Caucus activity and procedure.

She first gave a brief update to the Committee on the status of the work of the ad hoc advisory committee appointed by the Committee to review and recommend possible changes to the Bylaws of the Caucus for the Committee's consideration.

Next, Mrs. Etherton noted that she and Mark Pickett, External Communications officer of the Caucus, had recently made a presentation at a meeting of the Rotary Club of Lake Forest, which she said was well received and resulted in discussion of Caucus activity with a number of the Rotary Club members.

Mrs. Etherton next reminded the Committee members involved in seeking candidates to stand for the upcoming election to the Committee to provide the names and biographical information of the candidates for inclusion in the election ballot form to be mailed to the Caucus members.

Next, in light of the Committee's plan to interview at this meeting two Caucus members whose Committee terms are expiring for possible recommendation for seats on the Lake Forest Board of Zoning Appeals, Mrs. Etherton summarized the Caucus Bylaw provisions pertaining to service on boards by former Committee members and noted that such members must be treated and interviewed in the same manner and accorded the same consideration as non-members interviewing.

Lastly, Mrs. Etherton briefly summarized for the information of Committee members the Committee's policy regarding review of internet, including social media, information in the course of reviewing candidates seeking the Caucus's recommendation for office.

Interviews of ZBA Candidates: Mrs. Etherton then raised the matter of the Committee's interviewing five candidates seeking the Committee's recommendation for appointment to two

positions expected to be available on the Lake Forest Board of Zoning Appeals. The candidates to be interviewed at this meeting were Fred Brewer (whose Committee term is expiring), Guy Berg, Jan Gibson, Jay Soave (whose Committee term is expiring) and Charles Notarus. Each candidate was in turn invited into the meeting room to be interviewed by the Committee. Each presented his or her interest in the position and his or her experience and talents that would be useful on the ZBA. Each also addressed a number of questions, made brief closing remarks and then at the end of his or her interview and after being thanked by Mrs. Etherton for his or her interest in serving, left the meeting room. Neither Mr. Brewer nor Mr. Soave was present during interviews other than his own.

The Committee then discussed the matter of which two candidates to select for recommendation by the Caucus. At the conclusion of the discussion, on motion made by Annie Liddle and seconded by Matthew Liddy, the Committee voted to select Guy Berg and Jan Gibson for recommendation for appointment to the ZBA. Neither Mr. Brewer nor Mr. Soave attended the discussion or voted on this matter.

Adjournment: There being no further business, Mrs. Etherton called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Annie Liddle, seconded by Larry Obermeyer and approved by acclamation by the Committee without dissent. The meeting was adjourned at 9:13 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary