## **Caucus Committee Old/New Meeting**



## April 25, 2023 Grotto Room, Gorton Center

Meeting of the 2022-2023 Committee called to order: David Hunt, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 7:14 p.m. A quorum was in attendance.

President's Address: Mr. Hunt addressed the Committee with remarks as the departing President of the Caucus. He spoke of the accomplishments of the Committee during the Committee year and of the tremendous Lake Forest community support shown for the Caucus. Mr. Hunt also spoke of the importance of the Caucus mission, in particular the importance of keeping divisive partisan politics out of Lake Forest. He made special recognition of the work of a number of Committee subcommittees this year and extended special thanks for their Committee work to departing Committee members Cynthia McCullough, Don Adams, Dianne Gregg, Yvonne Derrig Bruce and Rob Lowe.

**Approval of the Committee meeting minutes of April 18, 2023:** At the conclusion of his remarks, Mr. Hunt raised the matter of approval of the Committee meeting minutes of April 18, 2023. Dale Tauke suggested that the minutes be supplemented by addition of a statement that Philip Arouca was allowed to read a statement to the Committee on his own behalf at that meeting. On motion by Peggy Siebert and seconded by Joe Oriti, the April 18, 2023 minutes were approved unanimously as presented with the addition proposed by Mr. Tauke.

**Farewell tribute:** Chris Benes then was given the floor for the purpose of presenting a video tribute to Mr. Hunt for his service as President of the Caucus and other services on the Caucus Committee and the Executive Committee. After the conclusion of the video, Mr. Hunt expressed his sincere gratitude for the tribute and thanked everyone.

**Adjournment:** There being no further business, Mr. Hunt called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Yvonne Bruce, seconded by Michael O'Neill and approved unanimously by the Caucus Committee. The meeting was concluded at 7:40 p.m. After a short interval, Mr. Hunt and the Committee members whose terms were expiring left the meeting, and Christopher Benes, the new President, commenced a new meeting.

Meeting of the 2023-2024 Committee called to order: Chris Benes, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 8:03 p.m. A quorum was in attendance.

**President's Address:** Mr. Benes welcomed both new and continuing members of the Caucus Committee.

**Introductions:** For the purpose of facilitating acquaintance between new and continuing members of the Caucus Committee, Mr. Benes asked all members to briefly introduce

## **Caucus Committee Old/New Meeting**



themselves and share their views on the benefits Caucus Committee work, which the members did in turn.

**Caucus Overview:** Mr. Benes next led a presentation of the structure, purpose, practices and related aspects of the Caucus Committee and described the recruiting work expected for the Caucus Committee. Joe Oriti, Fred Brewer, Aneeqa Aqeel, Cindy Davidson, Steve Ratay and Dale Tauke assisted in the presentation.

**Adjournment:** There being no further business, Mr. Benes called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Michael O'Neill, seconded by Mark Pickett and approved by voice vote without opposition. The meeting was concluded at 7:40 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary