Caucus Committee General Meeting Minutes



October 3, 2023

Gorton Center, Stuart Room

Caucus Committee Meeting called to order: Chris Benes, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 7:05 p.m. A quorum was in attendance.

Approval of Minutes: Mr. Benes raised the matter of approval of the General Caucus Committee meeting minutes of September 26, 2023. Mr. Benes asked for comments. Dale Tauke noted that there had been a request to change Mayor Stanford Tack's honorific to "Dr." There being no further comments, on motion by Kent Novit and seconded by Jay Soave, the September 26, 2023 minutes were approved unanimously by acclamation as presented, subject to the honorific change.

Update as to Bylaws Amendments: Mr. Benes began the meeting with a brief update as to plans and timing for the announcement of the Bylaws amendments previously approved by the Committee.

Endorsement of Candidates for Lake Forest Audit Committee: Mr. Benes then raised the matter of selection of two candidates for endorsement for the City's Audit Committee, one to fill a current opening on that committee and one for appointment at the end of a current member's term expiration next year. Three candidates, Robert Nowlin, Brian Durkin and Joy Larisey, having been reviewed and evaluated by the Caucus representatives of Ward 1, were presented one by one to the meeting. Each candidate gave a brief introduction to himself or herself, after which Committee members addressed a number of questions to each candidate and to which each candidate responded. After the interview with the third candidate was finished and left the room, the Committee members discussed their views of the candidates. When that discussion was finished, on motion by Michael O'Neill, seconded by Ann Lyon, a vote was held on the matter of endorsement of one candidate for the current opening and one for the later opening. The vote resulted in the selection of Ms. Larisey for the current opening and Mr. Durkin for the later opening.

Adjournment: There being no further business, Mr. Benes called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Scott Anderson, seconded by Janet White and approved unanimously by acclamation by the Committee. The meeting concluded at 9:09 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary