## **Caucus Committee General Meeting Minutes**



## April 11, 2024 Gorton Center, Grotto Room

**Caucus Committee meeting called to order:** Chris Benes, President of the Lake Forest Caucus, called the meeting of the Lake Forest Caucus Committee to order at 7:08 p.m. A quorum was in attendance. Mr. Benes welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of minutes:** As the first order of business, Mr. Benes raised the matter of approval of the Committee meeting minutes of February 13, 2024. Mr. Benes asked for comments. There being none, on motion by Marian Pearcy and seconded by Larry Obermeyer, the February 13, 2024 minutes were approved by acclamation as presented.

**Consideration of Officers for the 2024-2025 Caucus Year:** Mr. Benes then turned to the main purpose of the meeting: the consideration of persons to serve as the Caucus officers in the 2024-2025 Caucus year. Mr. Benes described the important roles served by Caucus officers to operate all aspects of Caucus Committee activity, noting in particular the requirements needed for a person to be President (including the Bylaws requirement to have served a full year as a Caucus officer) and stated the Caucus must have officers to serve its mission. He noted that subsequent year officers are proposed by the current Executive Committee from eligible, current Caucus Committee members in good standing and the Executive Committee carefully considers who has the skills, experience, and time to perform each role effectively. Taking into consideration the recent Spring Meeting, Mr. Benes said that the Executive Committee, after discussion, unanimously proposed Joe Oriti, Regina Etherton, Fred Brewer, Dale Tauke, Jennifer McGregor, Jason Akemann, and Mark Pickett to serve respectively as President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Fundraising, Internal Communications, and External Communications officers in 2024-2025. Mr. Benes further stated that among the several persons eligible per the Bylaws to serve as President, only Mr. Oriti was willing to serve.

Mr. Benes then opened up the discussion to comments and questions. Committee members asked questions and provided comments, which were discussed by Committee members. On conclusion of the discussion, on motion by Michael O'Neill, seconded by Scott Anderson, the Committee approved the appointment of the presented individuals as Caucus officers in the 2024-2025 Caucus year.

**Concluding Remarks:** Mr. Benes next reminded the Committee of the meetings scheduled for the Caucus Committee for the remainder of the current year and noted that after the conclusion of this meeting, Committee members from each Ward would conduct the counting of the votes by Caucus members for the election of new Caucus Ward representatives.

**Adjournment**: There being no further business, Mr. Benes called for a motion to adjourn, which was made by Mr. O'Neill, seconded by Linda Harmer, and approved by acclamation by the Committee. The meeting adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Dale Tauke, Secretary