Open Positions in City Government

lake-forest-board-meetingThe City encourages dedicated and civic-minded residents to participate in the local government.  All appointments are made by the Mayor with advice and consent of the City Council.

The Caucus interviews candidates for open positions on the City’s boards and commissions in the fall and the spring to recommend to the Mayor for appointment.  The Caucus strives to achieve geographically balanced representation by Ward in making its recommendations.  If a qualified candidate can not be identified for a Ward, candidates from other Wards will be considered.

A listing of boards and commissions can be found here.

If you are a resident interested in volunteering please:

  1. Complete the Volunteer Profile Sheet (VPS) and/or
  2. Contact Your Ward Chair and/or
  3. Email [email protected]

Open Elected Positions

  • Caucus Committee – All Wards

Open City Boards/Commission Positions

  • 2023-2024 positions will be posted in the summer

More information about a board or commission can be found on the Committee Description page.

The Caucus Committee

The Caucus Committee is another excellent way to volunteer and meet fellow residents, better understand the issues facing the City of Lake Forest and to have a positive impact on City governance.  Caucus Committee members identify, recruit, interview and recommend qualified fellow Lake Forest residents to serve on the various City boards and commissions.

The City of Lake Forest consists of 4 Wards (see Ward Map).

Every registered voter is a member of the Lake Forest Caucus.  However, the Caucus Committee is comprised of residents elected by mail-in balloting to represent their respective Wards for a three year term.  Each ward has 9 representatives and the terms are staggered in such a way so that every spring 3 new Ward members (from each Ward) are elected by residents for a total of 12 new Caucus Committee Members elected each year.